Loading...

Welcome to the North of Germany

The Hamburg Metropolitan Region has a lot to offer. Between the North Sea and the Wendland, between the island of Fehmarn, nestled in the Baltic Sea, and the Lüneburger Heide – there’s a lot to discover.

Anyone taking a holiday here is in for an unparalleled experience combining city and countryside. Distances here are short, but the bonds between people are enormous. Here, picturesque cities like Lübeck, Lüneburg, Wismar or the more than 1,000-year-old Stade await their guests. The lure of the pulsating metropolis of Hamburg is just as hard to resist. And the water is within reach practically anywhere you go. The Wadden Sea World Heritage Site in Cuxhaven and Büsum, to name one example, is truly mesmerising. It’s on show at the bustling port of Hamburg, and follows its natural path in the Elbtalaue UNESCO biosphere reserve. Landscapes like the Lüneburg Heide, the Alte Land and the Lauenburg Lake District are truly unique. Just the thing for a truly relaxing holiday!

The Hamburg Metropolitan Region has a lot to offer. Between the North Sea and the Wendland, between the island of Fehmarn, nestled in the Baltic Sea, and the Lüneburger Heide – there’s a lot to discover.

Anyone taking a holiday here is in for an unparalleled experience combining city and countryside. Distances here are short, but the bonds between people are enormous.

Here, picturesque cities like Lübeck, Lüneburg, Wismar or the more than 1,000-year-old Stade await their guests. The lure of the pulsating metropolis of Hamburg is just as hard to resist. And the water is within reach practically anywhere you go. The Wadden Sea World Heritage Site in Cuxhaven and Büsum, to name one example, is truly mesmerising. It’s on show at the bustling port of Hamburg, and follows its natural path in the Elbtalaue UNESCO biosphere reserve. Landscapes like the Lüneburg Heide, the Alte Land and the Lauenburg Lake District are truly unique. Just the thing for a truly relaxing holiday!

By the water’s edge

There are abundant holiday and leisure activities on or by the water in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region: whether you’re an amateur captain, a “ship spotter”, a canoeist, a water baby, a cyclist, someone who’s just passing throughor a lover of nature, it’s never far to the water’s edge. Two seas, countless lakes of various sizes, rivers and streams and –last but not least –the mighty Elbe.

In the countryside

Nature lovers and fans of the great outdoors will get their money’s worth in the Hamburg Metropolitan Region. Not only because it’s the only region of its kind to be home to three UNESCO World Heritage Sites –the Wadden Sea natural world heritage site, the Elbe Riverside biosphere reserve and the Schaalsee biosphere reserve –but also because, at every turn,there are opportunities to experiencethe diverse fauna and flora of the areaat close quarters. Discovering the natural environment on two wheels or on foot is a particularly enjoyable experience.

Towns & culture

There could scarcely be more variety for visitors interested in towns and looking for culture –modern ports and historic Hanseatic cities, large-scale opera, concerts or theatre and charming cabaret, striking contemporary architecture and the north Germanred-brick Gothic buildings, castles or stately homes and thatched fishermen’s cottages.

Photo credit: Dennis Karjetta, TMV, Felix Gänsicke, hauptsache hübsch, Küstenperle, Dithmarschen Tourismus, BWF, TMV Tiemann

Loading...

Willkommen im Norden Deutschlands

Die Metropolregion Hamburg hat viele Gesichter. Zwischen Nordsee und Wendland, zwischen der Ostseeinsel Fehmarn und der Lüneburger Heide gibt es für kleine und große Reisende viel zu entdecken. Wer hier Urlaub macht, erlebt eine unvergleichliche Kombination aus Stadt- und Landerlebnis. Die Wege sind kurz, die Verbundenheit untereinander groß. Hier warten malerische Städte wie Lübeck, Lüneburg, Wismar oder das über 1.000 Jahre alte Stade. Genauso anziehend ist die pulsierende Metropole Hamburg. Und das Wasser ist fast überall zum Greifen nah: Es fasziniert am Weltnaturerbe Wattenmeer in Cuxhaven und Büsum. Es zeigt sich beim lebendigen Hafenbetrieb in Hamburg und geht seinen natürlichen Weg im UNESCO- Biosphärenreservat Elbtalaue. Landschaften wie die Lüneburger Heide, das Alte Land und die Lauenburger Seenplatte sind einzigartig. Perfekt für entspannte Urlaubstage!

Die Metropolregion Hamburg hat viele Gesichter. Zwischen Nordsee und Wendland, zwischen der Ostseeinsel Fehmarn und der Lüneburger Heide gibt es für kleine und große Reisende viel zu entdecken. Wer hier Urlaub macht, erlebt eine unvergleichliche Kombination aus Stadt- und Landerlebnis. Die Wege sind kurz, die Verbundenheit untereinander groß. 

Hier warten malerische Städte wie Lübeck, Lüneburg, Wismar oder das über 1.000 Jahre alte Stade. Genauso anziehend ist die pulsierende Metropole Hamburg. Und das Wasser ist fast überall zum Greifen nah: Es fasziniert am Weltnaturerbe Wattenmeer in Cuxhaven und Büsum. Es zeigt sich beim lebendigen Hafenbetrieb in Hamburg und geht seinen natürlichen Weg im UNESCO- Biosphärenreservat Elbtalaue. Landschaften wie die Lüneburger Heide, das Alte Land und die Lauenburger Seenplatte sind einzigartig. Perfekt für entspannte Urlaubstage!

Ans Wasser

Die Urlaubs- und Freizeitmöglichkeiten am Wasser sind in der Metropolregion Hamburg vielseitig: egal ob für Freizeitkapitäne oder Schiffeguckende, Kanufahrende, Badenixen, Radfreunde, Wandervögel oder Naturentdeckende – der Weg ans Wasser ist nirgendwo weit. Zwei Meere, dazu unzählige große und kleinere Seen sowie Fluss- und Bachläufe und nicht zu vergessen: die mächtige Elbe.

Zu den Angeboten

Ins Grüne

Naturliebhabende und Frischluftfans kommen in der Metropolregion Hamburg voll auf ihre Kosten. Nicht nur, dass sie die einzige Region ihrer Art ist, die mit dem Weltnaturerbe Wattenmeer, der Flusslandschaft Elbe und dem Schaalsee gleich drei UNESCO-Welterbstätten beheimatet – überall führen Naturerlebnis-Angebote ganz nah an die artenreiche Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Besonders eindrücklich lässt sich die Natur genüsslich auf zwei Rädern oder per Pedes entdecken.

Zu den Angeboten

Städte & Kultur

Ob moderne Hafencity oder historische Hansestädte, große Opern-, Konzert- und Theaterbühnen oder charmante Kleinkunst, spektakuläre zeitgenössische Architektur oder norddeutsche Backstein-Gotik, Schlösser und Herrenhäuser sowie reetgedeckte Fischerhäuser – die Vielfalt für Stadt- und Kulturinteressierte könnte kaum größer sein!

Zu den Angeboten
Bilder: Dennis Karjetta, TMV, Felix Gänsicke, hauptsache hübsch, Küstenperle, Dithmarschen Tourismus, BWF, TMV Tiemann